Dawning on me….

I have been struggling with what I want to be when I grow up and now that I have reached the neat age of 40 the ideas become less appealing. A long time ago I had bought a book titled “How to Own and Operate a Bed and Breakfast” and I found when I was packing for the move back to AZ. I toyed with the idea of taking it to the used bookstore I loved in NM but I decided against it and put it in the box. Now it is in the section on my bookshelf where some of my favorite homesteading and farming books reside. I picked it up and re-read the intro after I had the same haunting thoughts of what to be when I grow up and thought that having a B&B might be just up my alley. I love to cook, decorate, set a beautiful table and entertain enough that this might just be the missing puzzle piece that I have been looking for. I am enrolled for the Fall semester at the college and I won’t drop the classes since they all still fall into the prerequisite category and I still want to pursue writing in some aspect that hasn’t made itself clear to me yet but I trust that it will.

I will use this blog to craft and design my dream of owning and operating a Bed & Breakfast. My plan is to find out everything that I will need to know and have for this endeavor to take flight. I plan to start this up in the mountains, ideally on 5 acres so I can keep my chickens, goats and eventually horses and still grow a garden to try to keep food costs lower and then selling any surplus I might have. I am considering different options for accommodating the guests also. My Mom and I had talked in the past about B&B’s (since she had bought the same book) and different set-ups. One of our ideas was to have a couple of little camp-type trailers totally cleaned up, restored and decorated nicely for guests to rent. That way if we couldn’t quite afford to have a big house for guests as well as a personal residence the trailers would be a starting point. My further thought was that guests would be invited for meals in our home, as well as use of the bath for showering and bathing since the little trailers would only have a toilet.

This is still a rough sketch inmy mind’s eye but with the help of this blog I can smooth out the edges and polish it so it shines and reflects aspects of mine and my Moms dreams.

About azgrneyz

I am 40-something year old woman, wife and mother of 2 awesome kids trying to start a little farm. We have 2 horses, 5 goats, 18 chickens, 2 Muscovy ducks, 1 Australian Shepherd and 2 cats so I guess it is more like a menagerie than farm for now. I enjoy gardening,reading, craft projects with the kids, running and riding my mountain bike. I am working on obtaining my Associates of Applied Science in Greenhouse and Nursery Management in Urban Horticulture with a Certificate in Sustainability so I can own and operate my farm effectively. I would also like to teach people in local communities how to grow their own food and revitalize vacant spaces. I am just doing the best I can with what I have been given for the time being. Welcome to my little world!

One response to “Dawning on me….

  1. Amy

    I love you because you’re always a dreamer. Never a dull moment with you, or your thoughts that are pregnant with potential. My only thought was: figure out how to afford maid service, because if you have strangers using your bath..you aren’t going to want to clean up after them. You will be the girl whom I will someday say, “I knew her when…” ♥

Leave a Reply

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

from scratch club

{making} food matter together

coldantlerfarm

Just another WordPress.com site

coldantlerfarm

Just another WordPress.com site

