Muster

After receiving the expected phone call from my Dr’s office to scold me about my cholesterol yesterday I have a new resolve. His assistant was also kind enough to inform me of my potential for developing type-II diabetes. How lovely! I guess my love of all things carb is catching up to me and must have me by the ankle. Son-of-a…..! I have had the elevated cholesterol for about 12 years now and have been on and off of medication since I cannot seem to discipline myself enough to just eat properly. *sigh* That is another reason for my passion for gardening, then I can eat what I grow and reduce my cholesterol. My Mom died from complications from surgery that was supposed to “fix” her poor circulation in her legs from years of plaque buildup in her arteries. She was also diagnosed as “pre-diabetic”. So needless to say I am a little more than freaked about the condition of my health which is why I was up at 5am and on the treadmill for 40 minutes and then it was on to P90x Yoga. I WILL commit this time! I quit smoking 2 years ago for pete’s sake, I have at least 1 feather in my cap. My next obstacle is my love of Coca Cola. UGH! I just hope my friends and family are patient with me in this endeavor.

I will log my progress on here as well. Goodness knows I need all the support I can get. Here’s to the next mile!

About azgrneyz

I am 40-something year old woman, wife and mother of 2 awesome kids trying to start a little farm. We have 1 horse, 15 chickens, 3 Muscovy ducks, 2 Australian Shepherds and 3 cats so I guess it is more like a menagerie than farm for now. I enjoy taking photographs, gardening, reading, craft projects with the kids, working out, hiking, and riding my mountain bike. I am working towards my Bachelor of Science in Nutrition so I can help educate people in healthy food choices. I recently achieved my Associate in Applied Science in Urban Horticulture so I can teach people how to grow healthy food choices. I would also like to teach people in local communities how to grow their own food. I am just doing the best I can with what I have been given for the time being. Welcome to my little world!

Leave a comment

July 2012
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other subscribers
Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

from scratch club

{making} food matter together

coldantlerfarm

Just another WordPress.com site

Just another WordPress.com site